One Man’s Trash is Another Man’s Treasure

I have just discovered one of my new hobbies this past weekend: thrifting.  I was out shopping and on a whim I decided to check out my local Salvation Army and Goodwill Thrift Stores.  I was inspired by some random YouTube thrift store haul videos and was amazed by some of the YouTubers’ lucky finds (i.e. designer clothing, unique art pieces, antiques).

The Goodwill store had a lot of brand name clothing including Gap, Loft, American Eagle, H&M, Charlotte Russe, etc. Unfortunately, most of the cute clothes were in smaller sizes.  I even found some Coach and Fendi handbags (I couldn’t verify their authenticity).  The Coach one was too worn and the Fendi bag was not really to my liking (I am not a fan of all over logos). Although I left empty-handed I was impressed by how clean and organized the store was.  Clothing was organized by color and pattern.  The store did not smell musty which is a definite plus for a thrift store.

The Salvation Army store was smaller and less organized.  However, it too did not smell musty.  I found some really great items here for a fraction of the cost of buying them new.

I found a Chanel-inspired quilted leather clutch for $2.99 that was still in very good condition. Retail price would be at least $10.  Another great find was the globe coin bank for also $2.99 and in very good condition. Similar ones on Ebay are at least $18.  I have never seen any thing like this before.

The 350-piece jigsaw puzzle of St. Basil’s Cathedral was a steal for $0.99 and was like new. I willingly took a risk with the purchase of the puzzle knowing that there could be some missing pieces but it was worth it. On Amazon, it sells for $10. I will probably frame this sometime later.

All in all, I was pretty happy with my purchase.  I think I will go thrift shopping more in the future just for fun and to buy interesting things.  Please feel free to comment on your experiences with thrifting and/or share your great finds.

 

Leave a Reply

